3. Jul

Danish Government adds Scotland and the Northern English regions to its list of red regions

3 July 2021

With effect from 3 July, the Danish Government has added Scotland and the English regions of the North East, North West and Yorkshire to its list of red regions in the United Kingdom, due to increased incidences of COVID-19. The English regions of Bedford, Blackburn with Darwen, Bolton and Rossendale remain on the red list, while the rest of the UK is classified as “orange”.

These changes mean that UK and other foreign residents travelling from Scotland and the English regions listed red must have a worthy purpose for entry. This requirement does not apply to citizens of the Faroe Islands and Denmark, regardless of where they reside, nor to foreign citizens with permanent residency.

A list of reasons for travel considered a worthy purpose for entry can be found on the Danish  corona information website www.coronasmitte.dk under “Entry into Denmark”

The full list of countries and regions and their classification by Denmark can be found here.

All travellers, including Faroese and Danish citizens and residents returning from a red country or region, must self-isolate for 10 days, regardless of their vaccine status.

National COVID-19 prevention measures in the Faroe Islands are outlined in full on www.corona.fo.

Testing is compulsory for all on arrival in the Faroe Islands, regardless of vaccine status. All arrivals are urged to remain isolated until the results of their tests are received, usually with 12 hours.

All travellers to the Faroe Islands from a country or region red-listed by Denmark should self-isolate for 10 days, even if the test on arrival is negative. Self-isolation may end if a PCR test on the 4th day is negative.

Denmark reviews its listing of countries and regions on a weekly basis every Friday and changes will normally come into effect the following day.

Other news

23. Nov
621 koppsett í gjár
Í gjár vórðu 621 fólk koppsett fyri koronu. 47 fólk fingu fyrra prikið og 154 fingu tað se…
10. Jun
Mandatory COVID-19 test upon arrival to the Faroe Islands
From October 1st 2020 to August 31st 2021 all passengers 12 years and older are required t…
16. May
Government eases covid restrictions for travellers to the Faroe Islands
Vaccinated and previously infected people are no longer recommended to home quarantine upo…
Show more